experchange > mac.misc

Robert Peirce (03-06-20, 12:32 AM)
My login for the networked computer is rbp, When I click the computer
in Network it automatically connects as bob. Clicking disconnect just
reconnects as bob. Ths actually works if all I want to do is access the
computer.

The problem is I am trying to use its drive for Time Machine and that
requires me to login as rbp.

How do I correct this?
Robert Peirce (03-06-20, 02:52 AM)
On 3/5/20 5:32 PM, Robert Peirce wrote:
> My login for the networked computer is rbp,  When I click the computer
> in Network  it automatically connects as bob.  Clicking disconnect just
> reconnects as bob.  Ths actually works if all I want to do is access the
> computer.
> The problem is I am trying to use its drive for Time Machine and that
> requires me to login as rbp.
> How do I correct this?


I rebooted and this time I was able to disconnect and get a login
screen. I entered rbp and my password but it said I was connected as
bob. I shut down and rebooted with the same result.
However, when I attempted to add the Time Machine backup drive I entered
rbp and my password, told it to backup now and it is!

Having the wrong connected as is weird but it seems to be working.
However, I would like to have it say I am connected as rbp. When I log
in from my wife's computer that's what it says and that is what it used
to say from mine.
David Empson (03-06-20, 03:01 AM)
Robert Peirce <bob> wrote:

> On 3/5/20 5:32 PM, Robert Peirce wrote:
> I rebooted and this time I was able to disconnect and get a login
> screen. I entered rbp and my password but it said I was connected as
> bob. I shut down and rebooted with the same result.
> However, when I attempted to add the Time Machine backup drive I entered
> rbp and my password, told it to backup now and it is!
> Having the wrong connected as is weird but it seems to be working.
> However, I would like to have it say I am connected as rbp. When I log
> in from my wife's computer that's what it says and that is what it used
> to say from mine.


I'm wondering if you have login credentials stored in the Keychain for
that server using the unwanted account. macOS will happily use that
entry to log in to the server and supply the password. If so, you should
be able to find it in Keychain Access (by searching on the server name)
and delete the entry.
Bernd Froehlich (03-06-20, 10:51 AM)
On 6. Mar 2020 at 02:01:39 CET, "David Empson" <David Empson> wrote:

> I'm wondering if you have login credentials stored in the Keychain for
> that server using the unwanted account. macOS will happily use that
> entry to log in to the server and supply the password. If so, you should
> be able to find it in Keychain Access (by searching on the server name)
> and delete the entry.


I always wondered about those unwanted connections as well.
This would explain it nicely.
Unfortunately the Finder always stores that information without asking, so
if I connect to another computer the credentials get stored and I
automatically get connected the next time, even if I don´t want to.
Is there any switch to turn this off?
Robert Peirce (03-07-20, 06:22 PM)
On 3/5/20 8:01 PM, David Empson wrote:
> I'm wondering if you have login credentials stored in the Keychain for
> that server using the unwanted account. macOS will happily use that
> entry to log in to the server and supply the password. If so, you should
> be able to find it in Keychain Access (by searching on the server name)
> and delete the entry.


I checked. I actually have three(!) keychain entries for my mini but
all say rbp for the account. Nevertheless, the default connect is still
bob and when I disconnect and log back in it uses my email address.
Similar Threads